Books That Inspired You To Blog!

Hey guys, I’m going to kick things off here at Her Paper Adventure with a discussion all about the book(s) that made you want to write reviews and blog. So I’d love to know, what’s the first book you ever wrote a review for? And what book(s) inspired you to start your own book blog?

If you’ve already checked out my about me page then you’ll know that Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments is what got me into reading in the first place (btw thank you Cassandra, I’m always super poor now). This discussion though is all about the book(s) that made you want to write reviews and blog, and for me that award goes to… Illuminae!

Before reading Illuminae, I had no real desire to review anything I’d read, I think I was worried that no one would care about what I had to say and, I’d never done it before, how did you even write a review? (O.o). For me, Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff created something pretty damn amazing when they wrote this. I stayed up until 6am reading this book because there was no chance I would have been able to sleep if I didn’t and after finishing it I simply had to get my feelings down. I no longer cared if people weren’t interested in what I had to say and that’s not in a horrible way, I was just less afraid I guess. I’d read a great book, I loved it and I wanted to tell people about it, even if it only reached one person, so for those reasons it was Illuminae that claimed my first ever review! Since then, my love of books and reading are the things that make me want to blog, but without that first review, who knows if I’d have ever started?

Feel free to check out my Illuminae review here. A word of warning though, it’s not great, but it was my first!

Gemina, the second instalment, is set to be released next month (18th October 2016) you can bet I’ll be celebrating its birthday and reviewing it right here on Her Paper Adventure!

 

7 thoughts on “Books That Inspired You To Blog!

  1. Illuninae is sooooooo good 😀
    My first review was a mystery book by James Patterson called Confessions of a Murder Suspect, it was kind of good.
    The Maze Runner was what really got me into reading though, it will forever hold a special place in my heart.
    I can’t wait to see what else you post! 😀

    Like

  2. I haven’t read Illuminae yet, but I have it on my shelf! The first time I toyed with the idea of starting a blog, I wrote one review. It was for Seeker by Arwyn Elys Dayton (I think that’s her name???). But I never ended up making a blog then. When I finally did, my first few reviews were for the Throne of Glass series!! I don’t remember WHAT exactly prompted me to want to start a blog, but those were the books I was reading at the time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My first review was for <a href="https://chapteradventures.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/review-this-is-not-a-test-by-courtney-summers/"This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers, which is a book about a girl with depression during the zombie apocalypse. It’s got action, character development and a great representation of depression. It’s one of my favorite books so I HAD to review it.

    I haven’t read Illuminae because it’s not available in my country and reading it as an eBook is not going to be the same. I want to wait until I can buy the paperback or hardcopy (which ever is out there).

    Like

Comments are closed.