Empire of Storms: Review

img_0530

28260587.jpg

Title: Empire of Storms
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Date Published: 6th September 2016
Pages: 704
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance
Buy: Amazon Book Depository
My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Add to Goodreads

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?


 

“The world will be saved and remade by the dreamers”

Empire of Storms was a huge one for me. It could have gone so wrong in so many ways and I was extremely nervous starting this. I mean, EoS could have been the book to make me change my mind about this whole series, this is the one where everything changes, Aelin is ready to take her rightful crown, Dorian is no longer a prince, but a king. Our babies are all grown up.

You see, the Throne of Glass series is one of my absolute favourites. I have loved every single book (albeit some more than others), I’ve never felt like I’ve struggled to get through one or that I’ve ever truly felt disappointed and let down by one and… *huge sigh of relief*… Empire of Storms was no different, thank the gods! It really did live up to the hype! Now I’m in no way saying that every book in the series is perfect, because they’re not, but SJ Maas, in my opinion, has created a beautiful masterpiece that I just can’t get enough of.

“There was no force in any world that could keep her contained”

Lets face it, EoS was amazing guys. Fast paced, with a load of action and super intense plot twists. The character development was so damn good too and even though I preferred Aelin much more in the previous Throne of Glass books, back when she was Celeana, there was still some strong character development for her, and there were other characters I grew to understand better and adore like Manon, Lorcan and Elide. And I was so happy we had multiple POV’s! I mean we had quite a few and they changed pretty rapidly, so it looked like it was going to be easy to get slightly confused about who’s POV you were actually reading, but that never happened for me and I think the whole multiple POV was executed really well. We got to meet some great new characters and also got to know some existing characters on a better level. I especially adored Lorcan and Elide, I ship those two so much, although, after that ending, Lorcan has some major sucking up to do to get back on my good side. I was seriously disappointed that Chaol wasn’t in this one though, he’s actually one of my favourite characters, so that was a huge let down. Dorian and Manon *heart eyes*, they’re so perfect for each other. Ugh, I actually ship so many characters in this series! I think the only ship I’m not firmly set on is Rowaelin, or at least I wasn’t until THAT ENDING .

And, OH. MY. GOD. THAT ENDING.
It ripped out my heart and stomped all over it. It was a soul crushing, heart stopping ending that had me on the edge of my seat, gripping my book so hard my knuckles were going white, while simultaneously whimpering because, THAT ENDING! And I just don’t know how anyone survived this unscathed. It was perfect.

One thing I’d definitely say is read The Assassins Blade before reading Empire of Storms, as there are a few characters from the novellas that are in EoS. Also, prepare to have your heart destroyed!

