Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Book Covers

img_4321

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ ThoughtsOnTomes, you can find out all you need to know about taking part by clicking here. This weeks topic is “Inaccurate Book Covers.” So for example, covers that have nothing to do with the story or the cover model doesn’t look anything like the main character and so on. I’m honestly finding this one a little difficult, if a cover doesn’t look nice but I want to read the book, I tend to just buy that book on my Kindle and totally forget all about the hideous cover! But, after scrolling through my Kindle, I’ve finally found my 5! Let’s take a look.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

7896527

This cover is awful. It just doesn’t scream assassin to me. When I look at this cover and see her tiny little blade and sweet innocent face, it does not make me think of Celaena one bit.

 

 

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

I have only read the first book in this series so far, but these covers? WHY? I much prefer8490112 the newer ones, with the big red door and the handprint, I mean it makes more sense than masks. Personally this cover just doesn’t make me think anything magical at all.

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

256683

I never really had that much of a problem with these covers, that is until the new and much improved ones came out and I realised how mediocre they actually are. I’m so happy I got these on my Kindle and not in paperback, I’d have been so annoyed when the new ones got released.

Recurve by Shannon Mayer

Now I don’t actually have that much of a problem with this cover, it’s fine, could be better 24969093but not terrible. My only problem is, this same cover is used for every single book (not including novellas). Every single one and there’s five of them! Yeah, so the title is changed,  the background will change to water or fire, depending on the book, but still, its annoying having them all the same. I am a huge fan of this series though, so I keep buying em!

 

The Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead

6527740I’m not a huge fan of people/faces on books to start with, but when you take a series of books like Vampire Academy and plaster every one with just a pretty face, it’s kind of annoying. A lot happens in these, a lot of action and a lot of death and there’s some pretty kickass leading females. I just don’t think these covers really do this series justice at all. Just looking at the cover, without reading anything about the book, you would think that this would be like Twilight, but it really isn’t.

 


 

Do you agree/disagree with my picks? What books did you pick for your T5W? Leave a link in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Book Covers

  1. I’m not sure which book it’s mentioned in in the daughter of smoke and bone series but masks do play a part. I haven’t seen the new covers though and just by what you said they sound better.

    I’m also not a fan of people/faces on covers. Sometimes it can even put me off reading a book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally agree with your picks. I looked the Shannon Mayer series’ covers and I can’t believe it. They are actually the same picture but photoshopped differently hahaha. As you said, they don’t look bad, but it feels so lazy! Great list, I love posts about covers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great picks I agree with pretty much all of these! I hate that original cover for Throne of Glass even though the hair color fits better than the new cover but the new cover is waaaaaay better looking.
    While I don’t mind the Daughter of Smoke and Bone so much I agree that the new covers with the door looks a lot better.
    And the City of Bones cover… just not good at all. The new ones are definitely an improvement. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I agree, the hair colour fits much better! I’d still rather the newer covers though, I just can not imagine that girl on the cover as Celaena! I haven’t finished the Daughter of Smoke and Bone books yet, so I don’t know if masks come into the books at some point, so they could actually be accurate 🙂 I just prefer the newer covers so much more!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.