Top Ten Tuesday: Movie Freebie!

img_4341

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a Movie Freebie! For me picking a favourite film is a little like picking a favourite book, it’s pretty impossible. I feel like my list of favourite movies changes all the time! Also, depending what kind of mood I’m in, sometimes I don’t want to watch an action film even though I love it, I want a rom com or a Disney film,  y’know? So here’s a bunch of movies (not in any order btw) I love and think you should definitely watch if you haven’t already!


How to Train Your Dragon

This film is literally one of my all time favourites, you know how I said in the beginning of this post that it’s really hard to choose a favourite? Well How to Train Your Dragon is the exception. No matter my mood, I will always want to watch this. I only saw this film for the first time this year and I can’t believe I waited so long to watch it, but since then I think I’ve watched it like a million times, it’s amazing! Also, Toothless is my ultimate, all time favourite character in any film I’ve ever watched, ever. He’s pretty much the main reason I love this film so much. If you pick one film to watch from my list, pick this one. You won’t regret it!


Pitch Perfect

Need a feel good movie? Need some girl power? Want to watch a film about a bunch of awesome ladies that sing a cappella?

If you said yes to any or all of those questions, then look no further guys because Pitch Perfect is absolutely perfect for you ;). And if you didn’t? Well, you should still watch it because its awesome. This film used to be my ‘hangover movie’, so basically my go to film when I was hungover as hell and needed something to make me feel better. Because let’s face it, you feel like crap when you’re hungover and this film is the perfect pick me up!


The Nightmare Before Christmas

This film. Have you seen it? Gaah. Okay. So, Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas is incredible. It’s been a long standing favourite Christmas film of mine, actually just a long standing favourite really, it doesn’t have to be Christmas time for me to watch this one! My niece is a huge fan of this film too and adores Jack Skellington, she even went as him for Halloween last year!


Stand by Me

Y’know what I only recently found out? That this film I’ve loved for years and watched so many times is based on the Stephen King book ‘The Body’. Kind of ashamed I didn’t know this, then again I’ve never actually read a Stephen King book… Anyway, my point here is, I think it’s incredible how many people don’t know their favourite films were actually books first or are based on books etc. Stand by Me is a truly incredible film and it’s been a favourite of mine since I was a kid. I’ve watched it countless times!


The Fox and the Hound

The Fox and the Hound is a special one for me, it was my favourite movie as a child and although this isn’t a film I watch often anymore, I think I’ll always love it. The storyline is beautiful too, the ‘original theatrical release poster’ described it best..

“A story of two friends who didn’t know they were supposed to be enemies”

 


 

Big Daddy

Any Adam Sandler fans? If you are then you’re guaranteed to love this film. It’s probably my favourite Adam Sandler film. It’s hilarious, sweet and will definitely cause some major feels in some parts of the movie!


 

Labyrinth

If you fancy something a little magical, different and a bit ‘out there’, The Labyrinth is a great pick. I believe it was my step mum (don’t worry, she’s the nice kind) that I first watched this film with, not sure how old I was exactly but I still love it now, although this is another one I rarely watch anymore, it’s more a favourite from childhood!


 

How to Train Your Dragon Two

Can you tell I’m a little How to Train Your Dragon obsessed? Honesty though, you’re probably the same way if you’ve watched them. The second How to Train Your Dragon film is just as good as the first in my opinion, which is kinda rare really, normally the second film is just awful and ruins the whole thing. Not here, nope! Just as good, maybe even slightly better? Like I said all the waaaaay up the top, right at the beginning of this post, Toothless is the reason. Well the main one. The films are actually great too though!


 

Pearl Harbour

This film gets me every damn time. I can’t watch it without bursting into tears, which is really annoying if I watch it with anyone else because they try and comfort me, next thing you know I’m full on, can’t-breathe-properly-crying, blotchy face, snotty nose. Yeah, sucks. Not that I don’t appreciate people trying to make me feel better when I’m quite clearly sad, but this is definitely a film I tend to try and watch on my own where possible :’) Despite the ugly crying this film forces me to partake in, I love it!


 

Tangled

What can I say? I love Disney/animated films meant for kids. If you say you don’t, you’re probably lying because it’s impossible not to. Tangled is definately one of my favourite Disney films. I remember when I first watched it, my niece was in one of them stages where if she loved something, it would have to be played constantly. So, while visiting my sister for a long weekend, Tangled is pretty much all I watched for days, strangely that didn’t make me hate the film! I ended up learning most of the songs and thought it was a great film :D.


 

Which films on this list have you watched? And what did you think of them? Are there any here you haven’t seen but want to? Or even any you personally didn’t like? Let me know in the comments!

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Movie Freebie!

  1. Oh my gooood. Tangled, How to Train Your Dragon, and How to Train Your Dragon 2 are among some of my favourite movies, and Tangled and HTTYD 2 especially made me cry every time I watch them. SO well-animated and so funny and so heart-warming at all the same time. Can’t wait for HTTYD 3 – I can only hope it lives up to the first two movies. πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! They’re so good though, they’re films I could watch all the time and I doubt I’d ever get sick of them πŸ™‚ I’m actually so nervous about HTTYD3, I love these films and I need it to be amazing, just like the first two! But I’m kinda worried it won’t be 😩

      Like

  2. The Fox and the Hound was one of the Disney films I used to watch a lot as a child and for me it wasn’t an old classic. I don’t often watch it now either but it is one I will always like. I also love Tangled – in fact I was watching it earlier today! Most of my films on a list like this would be Disney films, because they are the ones I turn to the most and to me they’re more than just kids films, they’re works of art with amazing soundtracks and universal messages.

    Out of your other films, the only one I’ve seen and wasn’t a particular fan of was Nightmare Before Christmas. I’ve never really liked Tim Burton’s animation style (I prefer his live action stuff), and I couldn’t get into this particular story. The only thing I do like about it is “What is This?” when Jack has fallen into the Christmas and doesn’t exactly know what to make of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.