My Top Ten Book Of 2016

Hey everyone!

First of all, I’m really sorry, I am super late with this post, I’m pretty sure every book blogger out there will have posted their best books of 2016 posts already and dumped 2016 where it needs to be, in the past. Although it is super late, I figured I’d still share my top books of 2016, just for fun.

So last year I read 88 books, which I don’t think is bad at all, especially considering I had to traipse through a long ass reading slump that lasted months! *Gives past reading slump the stink eye.* I’ve set myself a target for 100 books in 2017 which I’m hoping I’ll be able to annihilate, but we’ll see. Anyways, here are my top books of 2016 (and I am, again, really sorry it’s so late). Also, these are in no particular order.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Ahh, EoS was huge for me, I waited so long for this to come out and was so nervous to read it, so much could have gone wrong with this book. I rated it 5 stars, so thankfully it was amazing! You can check out my full review here.

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Another 5 star read for me in 2016. I really didn’t know if I was going to like this one, it sounded really interesting though so I went for it and I’m so glad I did!

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

THIS BOOK! Okay, honestly I don’t really cry when I read. Like at all. I mean, I get the feels, but I don’t shed a tear. Then I read I’ll Meet You There and I knew, I just knew, after reading a small amount of the book that it was going to make me cry eventually, or at least be the closest one to. And yeah, I cried hard.

How Not to Disappear by Clare Furniss

I just adored this book, it was hilarious and equally heartbreaking, and really beautiful. I gave How Not to Disappear 4 stars.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

So I’ll Give You the Sun was a book I honestly thought I was going to kind of, well, hate. I can’t even remember why I ended up picking it up, I know I’d seen it around a lot, on bookstagram and tumblr, but I can’t remember what, exactly, made me buy it. Thankfully I did though and I rated it 4 stars!

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

If this isn’t on your list, I’m assuming you haven’t read it yet so there’s no possible way it could be. This book was pretty unexpected, the first book in the series (A Court of Thorns and Roses) was good but it had absolutely nothing on ACOMAF. At all. So, although SJM is queen, I wasn’t really expecting it to be as good as it was but damn, it was amazing! 5 stars.

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

I’m just going to put this out there, Schwab’s Shades of Magic series is so good and you should go read the first two books before A Conjuring of Light comes out in Feb. I love this series and am so nervous/excited for the final instalment! I think I preferred A Gathering of Shadows a tiny bit more than ADSOM, but honestly, they’re both amazing. Also, I rated AGOS 5 stars.

Twelve Kings by Bradley P. Beaulieu

I remember picking this one up at the bookstore, I’d never heard of it, never seen anyone post anything about it, the cover looked really good though and the synopsis had me very intrigued and it was huge (592 pages)! Still, I bought it and although it took a little while to get through it, it was a great read, I loved it and gave it 5 stars!

Cress by Marissa Meyer

I absolutely loved this book, it was my favourite from The Lunar Chronicles, mainly because my babies, Cress and Thorne, I frickin adored those two! 5 Stars!

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Not only is the story and the world building amazing but, the characters are some of the best I’ve had the pleasure to read about. I love them all, Inej is my favourite, but I love every single one of the six. 5 stars!


There we have it, 10 of my favourite reads of 2016, I’ve probably missed out loads, looking back I actually had a pretty decent year for reading, either that or I was feeling far too generous for the year!

Did any of these feature on your Top Books of 2016 list? Are there any here you’ve never heard of or any you’ve read but didn’t like?

img_4841

 

10 thoughts on “My Top Ten Book Of 2016

  1. Ahh we have similar books! ACOMAF and Six of Crows were on the top of my list, I read EoS at the beginning of January that’s why it’s not in my list but I loved it too.
    Wolf by Wolf and I’ll Meet You There are in my TBR. I haven’t read any VE Schwab book yet but I’m planning to change that this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! ACOMAF and Six of Crows were definitely a couple of the best books I read in 2016! I hope you get to read Wolf by Wolf and I’ll Meet You There soon, they’re both really good and I hope you love them. You should totally read Schwab’s books, her writing is amazing and I’ve loved every book I’ve read of hers so far (I still need to read Vicious) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to be reading a gathering of shadows soon. I’ve been procrastinating over it for a year because the first book was amazing and I was worried it wouldn’t live up to it. So it’s good to know you thought it was as good, if not slightly better.
    And as for being late, I’ve only just done my books of 2016 post as well :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who was a little late on the books of 2016 post! I was almost certain everyone else had done theirs haha! 🙂 I’m so nervous for ACOL to come out, the cliffhanger at the end of book two will have you desperate to read it, so I’d say it was a pretty smart choice to wait and read the second book so close to the release of the final one! I hope you enjoy it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.